"The 2014 presidential elections would be different from the ones in 2004 and 2009 because there will be no incumbent in the 2014 elections while the political arena would be very wide to make the competition widen and fiercer than before," he said at a general lecture on the national democracy in 2013 held by the Indonesian National Youth Committee (KNPI) here on Tuesday.

Yudhoyono however said that although it could be fierce, politics, general elections and presidential elections are not something to be scared of or worried about.

"There is nothing to be afraid of. God willing it will go well. The presidential election will be carried out directly and it has been carried twice with international institutions praising them as fair and democratic. However this system also has its own challenges," he remarked.

The head of state welcomed those who are aspiring to run for the post, who, according to his estimate, have so far numbered 36.

"To me it is good. The more who wish to lead and do something better for the people the more grateful we are as there will be more choices to offer while everybody must also be given an opportunity to lead," he said.

President Yudhoyono explained that the most important thing now was for the aspirants to make themselves known to the public and in connection with that mass media must not be discriminative but must give them all an equal opportunity to present themselves so that the one to be chosen in 2014 would be the best.

President Yudhoyono would not seek reelection as by law he could not do it because he has been in the office for two terms.

The presidential elections would be carried out following legislative elections that would be participated in by 10 political parties, confirmed recently by the General Elections Commission (KPU).

The ten political parties are the National Democrat (Nasdem), the the National Awakening Party (PKB), the Prosperous Justice Party (PKS), the Indonesia Democratic Party Struggle (PDIP), the Golkar Party (Golkar), the Great Indonesia Movement Party (Gerindra), the Democrat Party (PD), the National Mandate Party (PAN), the United Development Party (PPP) and the People`s Conscience Party (Hanura).

All of the parties have so far been represented in the House of Representatives (DPR) except Nasdem which is a new comer.